For all my Children

I love this…it’s from – Children Chapter IV by Khalil Gibran:

And a woman who held a babe against her bosom said, “Speak to us of Children.”
And he said:
Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.
You may give them your love but not your thoughts.
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow, which you cannot visit, not even
in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.
You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with
His might that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
For even as he loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is
stable.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “For all my Children

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

  2. I just like the valuable info you furnish into your articles.I will bookmark your blogging site and examine yet again listed here routinely.I am pretty absolutely sure I will realize a great deal of recent stuff proper listed here! Very good luck for your next!

  3. You managed to really load this article up with information that is of real value. I appreciate good writing, and this is really good. I agree with the points you make here. Very nice work. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

Leave a Reply

