Shhh They are listening

His face was wet when he kissed me goodbye this morning. Now realize that his regular use of eye drops is probably the reason. But it give me pause.

 

The boys were laughing the other day as they were talking about actors. Now understand my family is made of artist. Performance artist who get paid. This quote is on my fridge:

 

An actor without techies is a naked person standing in the dark trying to emote; A techie without actors is a person with marketable skills.

Read more at Suite101: Quotes and Jokes for Techies of the Theatre | Suite101 http://suite101.com/article/quotes-and-jokes-for-techies-of-the-theatre-a173985#ixzz2JZBiLHTE 
Follow us: 
@suite101 on Twitter | Suite101 on Facebook

 

These guys are funny. Now when I was 12 someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I was already hooked on applause like a crack whore looking for the next fix. I told them “ I wanna act and I wanna eat.” I have successfully done both for about 39 years so yay me. Point is sometimes they forget I am in the room.

 

So back to the conversation. They were lamenting a particular problem on a show which techies are known to do, when Joe said “There is a reason they call them talent” he was referring to having to modify a prop so the actor could use it properly. This made me laugh. He has been sleeping with talent for 26 years. He knows I am smart and funny so he would die if I took that comment to heart. I think the particular blessing in my life is living between the two worlds of magic. I get to soak up the love and stand in the dark, knowing that without me the applause would not be. Oh and I am like the others in my tribe a drama queen, so never try to work in what things mean.  I will allow you to muse on your own. Just remember the disclaimer above.

 

So when his face was wet this morning I choose to attribute it to eye drops. I also love him for sleeping with the enemy….shhhh techies really love us they just need more kudos.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

