Big ass bandaids

Oh god i need you now….those are the words to a song by plumb

Need you now

I love this song. It hits a nerve for me and most of us. As we walk through life, sometimes a big ass band-aid is not enough. As a mom I have fixed knee scrapes, held small hands in the emergency room and even hands larger than mine as we cried through broken hearts. But sometimes the emphatic ear and unquestioning love just do not cut it. Sometimes as a christian those really do not get the job done either. Last evening I found myself in an unwanted bitter to swallow sandwich. My mom is awesome all she needs to be happy is for you to be ok.

Last night my beloved son was not OK. He recently lost someone he loves very much. Because of the funeral he is able to spend a day with mom and I. He got a call last night that someone else he loves had a stroke. He ran to the back yard to start the family phone tree. My mom out of respect for his privacy stayed in the house. Now understand she wanted to pick up this 200 lb. man she helped raise and rock him in her arms. So staying off that back porch was hard. Can you taste that sandwich? There are very few people I love in the world as much as I love these two. So I kept going in and out….like my 14-year-old husky I kept feeling pulled both directions. As I sat beside my frightened child. I couldn’t do anything but pray and I am a doer so admitting my helplessness is hard. But sometimes guys that is all we can do. It turns out it was a seizure and maybe a wake-up call for that family like the one we got here. Either way thanks lord for walking beside me when I was helpless.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Big ass bandaids

  1. Hey! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Excellent website you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

