Austin Public Library’s 2nd Chance Books

Through my position at the Austin Public Library I was able to start a library program for incarcerated youth here in Austin. The program limped along for several years then Austin Public hired a fabulous librarian that has taken the program and made it soar. These young people have opened me up in a way I never imagined. Because of this opportunity I now have the confidence to teach literacy classes, and workshops to help others reach out to these kids.   There is another program like this one in Lafayette La that was started by one of our interns and we have shown hundreds of adults how important these kids are.  This is where my heart lives. If you have never reached out to a young person who needs a real friend I recommend it. It feeds your soul

Leave a comment

June 12, 2012 · 12:14 am

Leave a Reply

